Soy Very In Love

Valentine’s Day came and went. I made egg shaped heart and toast. I ate my favorite lemon flavored chocolate from Perugina. I made cards for everyone with classic Melissa puns like “you have stolen a pizza my heart” , etc, love love love. I’m a hopeless romantic…big time fan of love. My only problem with Valentine’s Day is that it has become a holiday to buy things for you significant other that you should be doing year round and not just on that one day (and people get really upset if they don’t get anything). But I digress…because what I’m really here to talk  write about is *DRUM ROLL PLEASE* DUMPLINGS. Yes world dumplings! Dumplings don’t break your heart. Dumplings were my Valentine (Sorry Aaron, I still love you lots, I promise) And with the help of Betty Liu from Le Jus D’Orange (which is a blog I’m newly obsessed with because matcha and it’s so cute ( http://lejusdorangeblog.com)) I learned to make the dumpling skins. The inside is my take on veggie dumplings.

IMG_0255 IMG_0249

 

 

 

 

 

Veggie Dumplings:

1/2 container firm tofu chopped (moisture sopped up with a paper towel)

1 carrot grated

half a small carton of mushrooms chopped ( I used bella)

1 handful of arugula chopped

1/2 can black beans

1 teaspoon togarashi (Japanese rice seasoning)

1/2 large shallot minced

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 nub of ginger minced (nub is a measurement right?)

1 teaspoon miso paste

1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 egg

garlic powder and ginger to taste

lots of black pepper and some chili flake

1 batch of dumpling dough found here :http://lejusdorangeblog.com/2015/01/28/煎饺-dumplings-two-ways-porkchive-and-chiveeggvermicelli/

Combine all the above ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Let them sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before using. Follow this dumpling skin recipe and cooking instructions and you have yourself some amazing homemade dumplings. I couldn’t believe how easy it was to make dumplings. Something I love so so much that I can now make at home!! Next time will be pork and cabbage.

DUMPLING SAUCE:

1 part spicy sesame oil

1 part regular sesame oil

1 part soy sauce

a dash of rice wine vinegar

one good squirt of sriracha

1 clove garlic

some minced ginger + a little ginger powder

Put in an air tight container and let mingle in the fridge for at least an hour.

VOILA Spicy Dumpling Sauce.

IMG_0262

 

Homemade dumplings are everything.

I have so many back ups in my freezer I literally cannot wait to make soup with them! Homemade Dumplings and Ramen…Bye social life.

IMG_0270

 You’re getting hungry, veryyyy hungry.

P.S- Picture credit to my new and beautiful camera. I’m so excited to be a big girl and take awesome photos. YAY!

         P.P.S- Even without a Valentine you are loved.

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by KIM at https://lovelivelifebykim.wordpress.com

our-growing-edge-badge

3 thoughts on “Soy Very In Love

  1. Pingback: Our Growing Edge February Round-up | Love Live Life by Kim

Leave a comment